Buy Beer and Order Alcohol Online. Booze, Spirits and Drinks Also Available.

The Best Gluten Free Vodka

Is gluten free vodka even a thing? With many people now gluten free (or heavily gluten reduced) the demand for a delicious vodka they can drink has never been higher. Needs range from severe health requirements to optional lifestyle choices such as being
Table of Contents

Is all vodka gluten free after distillation?

Many leading industry figures believe vodka to be gluten-free even if it is made from wheat, barley or rye. These typically gluten grains are removed through the distilling process to a point where they are not present. So much so that the National Institutes of Health (in the United State) even goes as far as saying that alcoholic drinks made from gluten sources are safe for those with an intolerance of gluten as long as they’ve been through the distillation process. As a note, in Europe this wouldn’t be allowed to be labeled or classified as gluten free vodka as we have stricter laws.

However, some people with celiac disease and even non-celiac drinkers that are highly sensitive to gluten reach to drinking vodka made with gluten grains. It isn’t clear why, although gluten cross-contamination is one theory, whereas others believe tiny gluten fragments may still remain.

Simple advice would be to just avoid drinks made from gluten grains - and thankfully there is a growing range of vodkas that are just that. These gluten free vodkas are award winning in their own right, let alone the fact they’re made from other substances (mainly potato in vodka’s case).

Are Leading Vodka Brands Gluten Free?

Some leading vodka brands are gluten free but many aren’t. It doesn’t just depend on the brand as well but sometimes on the actual product. Here is a quick summary on top vodka brands here:

  • Smirnoff - gluten free
  • Absolut - contains gluten
  • Grey Goose - made with wheat, but has TTB approval for being gluten free
  • Belvedere - contains gluten
  • SKYY - contains gluten
  • Svedka - contains gluten
  • Ciroc - gluten free
  • Reyka - unstated, but made from wheat and barley (so not recommended)

What About The Best Vodka For Keto Diets?

Well, you’re in luck. Whilst keto diets aren’t 100% gluten free, they follow a massively reduced carb and gluten intake. This typically comes from fresh fruits and vegetables as opposed to grains. For this reason it would be recommended that if you were to drink vodka it would full the same approach as being gluten free, meaning vodkas made from potatoes.

So given this, what are the best vodka brands that are gluten free?

Recommended Gluten Free Vodka

Ciroc Ultra Premium

An award willing, fabulous gluten free vodka. Whilst not every Ciroc vodka is gluten free - however when they are they’re fabulous. Distilled five times from French grapes it retains a slight citric taste along with a smooth profile.

Cold River

Punching above it’s small batch vodka weight, this award winning gluten free vodka won in general categories not just gluten free. Being made from potatoes with delightful packaging, Cold River has a crisp flavour resulting in it being preferred by many for their vodka martinis.

Crystal Head

One of the most striking vodka bottles on the market coming in a crystal head, little do many know this is one of the best gluten free vodkas. It is distilled from peaches and cream corn giving a touch of sweetness to its purity.

Chopin Potato Vodka

Chopin’s is often an overlooked vodka, however it comes with a creamy texture rare in vodkas. Being distilled from potatoes, this makes it the perfect option for a gluten free vodka where you want something a bit softer than crisp vodka.

Luksusowa Potato Vodka

It may be one of the cheaper vodkas, however this Polish vodka packs more than it’s price. Being distilled from potatoes makes this both smooth and affordable, along with being completely gluten-free.

Titos

Lesser known in the UK, but well known in the south of the United States due to Texas distillery, Tito’s handmade is a delight. With a smooth finish, creamy body and a hint of sweet corn and spice as an aftertaste it is one of our recommended gluten free vodkas. Tito’s is also great as a vodka to drink neat on the rocks or straight up.

Smirnoff

We couldn’t produce a recommended list without the largest selling gluten free vodka in the world. What it may lose for more sophisticated tastes, it makes up for in availability and reliability.

Chase

A British vodka growing in popularity since 200 when it was launched. This gluten free vodka is produced from its own farm grown potato produce and is distilled using an unique Copper Batch Pot. This combination gives it both a smooth texture with crisp finish.

FAQ

What gluten free vodkas can I find in most restaurants?

In restaurants, they’ll typically stock the most distributed brands of vodka. In the case of gluten free ones, that means Smirnoff, Ciroc and UV in the UK.

Where can you find vodka that’s safe for Celiacs and those with gluten allergies and sensitivities?

You can find the majority of gluten free vodkas’ in our webstore. Similarly, many of the brands will be available in most off licenses and supermarkets. Although, some of the more specialist and small brands will need to be ordered from specialist stores.

Are Belvedere, SKYY or Svedka vodka gluten free?

No these Belvedere, SKYY and Svedka do not sell any vodkas that don’t contain any gluten grains.

Is Grey Goose Vodka Gluten Free?

As one of the smoothest vodkas on the market, Grey Goose is another leading premium vodka brand. Although it is made from wheat, their extensive distilling process is said to remove all traces of gluten. So much so the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) in the US has granted approval for the list Grey Goose vodka as gluten free.

As it is still made with wheat, we won’t include it in our recommended gluten free list to be on the safe side. Don’t worry though, you can still buy Grey Goose.

Is Absolut Vodka Gluten Free?

As a market leader in the premium vodka range, Absolut is one of the preferred brands of choice for many. Hailing from a small town in Sweden and using only local wheat produce, unfortunately means that Absolut is not gluten free.

Is Smirnoff Vodka Gluten Free?

Probably the most widely available vodka in the world, the good news is that Smirnoff Vodka is gluten free. It is distilled from corn meaning that it is gluten-free.

What is the best tasting gluten free vodka?

It depends on your preference, however the Tito’s Handmade Vodka and Cold River many believe are the best tasting mainstream vodka. These even beat Circos and Grey Goose (which is not gluten free) in overall rankings and ratings.

Is gluten free vodka more expensive than normal vodka?

The quality of the vodka typically determines the price, not if the vodka contains gluten or not. However, this isn’t always true. There are some great quality vodkas that are actually cheaper than expensive ones such as Grey Goose and Cold River.

Is vodka made from corn, potatoes, or grapes always gluten free?

Unfortunately not. Just as the main ingredient may be gluten free (eg. corn or potatoes) as it could be mixed with other grains that contain gluten. For your safety, make sure to always read the labels.

What is gluten free vodka made out of?

Traditionally vodka was made from wheat, barley and rye where these all contain gluten. Whilst the distilling process removes gluten aspects, many still contain gluten. Gluten free vodka is made from potato, grapes or even corn.

© Liquor Online.